How to contact us, our leadership team, and other tidbits
Some examples of what we do as a club
The ESR Calendar and a link to the National AACA Calendar
How to join the AACA and the Eastern Shore Region
More photos of club members' vehicles
Links to various AACA National and other web sites
Archive of recent issues of "Glass-N-Brass", our newsletter
The Dick Furniss Award

Dick Furniss Award

The Eastern Shore Region of the AACA Club provides an annual special award to a member who has, during that year, excelled in some manner above and beyond that which is so graciously contributed by the general membership.

This award is given in honor of its namesake, Dick Furniss, a charter member of the group who has been continuously devoted to the club since its inception prior to being chartered by the AACA in 1963.

His accomplishments include service as the club’s first and then second Director (President), twice as a Vice- President, five times as Secretary / Treasurer and seven terms as a Board Director. He also was the designer of our club’s logo and has had every other kind of job in our club and continued to serve, starting in 1986 along with his wife Del, as part of the club’s historian’s team.

It is within this setting that the annual “Dick Furniss Award”, selected by the club’s Board of Directors, is given to a club member, individual, couple or group that most closely parallels the interest, dedication, and devotion to the intent and purpose of the Eastern Shore Region ¬†of the AACA as displayed by its namesake.

Selection of this award is based upon, but not limited to, those club members that have an interest in the preservation of antique vehicles and related items. Those who support and attend, to the best of their ability, club functions and promote sportsmanship and fellowship among the membership locally and/ or at the National level. They extend a special welcome and hospitality to others, especially guests and potential new members, and has displayed within the past year the spirit and rewards of sharing the old car hobby as exemplified by its namesake, Dick Furniss.

Owning an antique vehicle is not required to be a recipient of this award. The annual honor may be bestowed upon the same recipient in another year. The granting of this award will be in a fair equitable manner whereby each club member is equally considered a potential candidate for the coveted honor.

M. J. Marine